The Blossom Open Golf Tournaments winners: (from left) Danny Huscroft (low net

Cranbrook, Creston golfers top Blossom Open Tournament at Creston Golf Club

Web Lead

On May 19 and 20, the Creston Golf Club hosted the annual Blossom Open Golf Tournament. There were 98 competitors in the field, 32 from out of town, who enjoyed two beautiful weather days for golf as well as a golf course that was in super playing condition.

It was Jeff Langin, from Cranbrook, who came out on top with rounds of 70 and 75 to defeat Kowan O’Keefe by one stroke. In the ladies division, Cherie Baker of Creston took home the champion’s trophy with rounds of 81 and 79, for a three-stroke victory over Ruthie Hoffman also of Creston.

The low net champions were Lacara Davidson (ladies) and Danny Huscroft (men).

Other winners were:

Championship Flight: Second gross: Kowan O’Keefe; second net: Don Price; third net: Dave Handy; fourth net: Bryan Smithson; fifth net: Tobyn Larsen.

First Flight: Low gross: Len Mosher; second gross: Len McCord; low net: Tom Proud; second net: Larry Beebe; third net: Paul Schoenhals; fourth net: Derek Larsen; fifth net: Dale Benedetti.

Second Flight: Low gross: Ron Young; second gross: Dougald MacDonald; low net: Rory Sorenson; second net: Larry Walker; third net: Jim Vigne; fourth net: Dan Kinney; fifth net: Derek Thompson.

Third Flight: Low gross: Vern Ronmark; second gross: Doug Strath; low net: Danny Santori; second net: Harry Brownfield; third net: Les Stevenson; fourth net: Bill Mayer; fifth net: Gord Johnson.

Ladies Flight: Low gross: Cherie Baker; second gross: Ruthie Hoffman; low net: Lacara Davidson; second net: Leslie Harbison; third net: Yvonne Larsen; fourth net: Linda Price.

The event was well received by all who took part, especially the out-of-town competitors who had very favorable comments on the shape of the golf course. The club looks forward to its next big event on June 11, the annual two-lady team net Stableford Tournament.


Just Posted

Creston prepares for marijuana legalization

A survey mailed to residents last week has already generated plenty of interest.

Environmental education programs at Creston Valley Wildlife Management Area to resume this spring.

Columbia Basin Trust provides $295,000 toward facilities and programming

Learn all about home energy efficiency at upcoming Green Home Shows

Public events in Creston and Castlegar followed by a professional builders’ workshop

An affordable fire hall for Creston is within reach

“We are an unpaid group of volunteers absolutely committed to making our town a safe, functional and affordable place to live.”

Second meeting of ASC Committee

Committee hears baseline Fire Department information from fire chief

Translocation of 50 mule deer is currently underway in Kimberley

Close to 30 deer have been translocated as of Wednesday, March 7, 2018.

Canucks find scoring touch in 5-2 win over Blackhawks

Four Vancouver skaters have two points apiece in victory over Chicago

‘Not well thought out:’ Arizona family slams B.C. speculation tax

American family spends half the year in vacation home on Vancouver Island

Family of B.C. wildfire victim wants better emergency preparedness for vulnerable people

Williams Lake’s David Jeff “fell through the cracks”

Senate backs bill to legalize recreational marijuana

Justin Trudeau reminded senators that his government was elected on a promise to legalize pot

Where Canadians buy real estate abroad: report

Hot Spots: Top 30 home-buying destinations for Canadians in the Americas

Ban on grizzly bear hunt, new rules take effect April 1

Taxidermists, tanners will have to report on any grizzly bears or parts brought to them

Ontario father grief stricken over murder of ex-wife and children

‘No words to explain,’ grieving father of slain teens says in statement

Russian Embassy calls Trudeau’s criticism of Putin unproductive

The Russian Embassy is firing back at Trudeau for criticizing President Vladimir Putin

Most Read