Opinion

Aaron Hemens is the editor for the Creston Valley Advance. Photo: Rame Kader

Editorial: Challenge your biases

“It requires a lot of courage and strength for someone like Mary Jayne to write her own story about her life as a woman in the Blackmore family. No matter your stance on the Blackmores, it’s important to listen.”

“Think on These Things” is a column written by retired Creston pastor Ian Cotton. (File photo)

Think on These Things: The Fig Tree

“We are living in momentous times, but so many are indifferent! But men then, and today, conclude that they are the favourites of heaven, and that the message of reproof and warning is meant for another.”

  • Oct 19, 2020
Rec Perspectives with Tia Wayling (File photo)

Rec Perspectives: Will Canadians Start Improving Their Health Now?

“What do you think would happen if the majority of Canadians took a preventative step and put in the effort towards improving their overall health? The simple answer would be healthier Canadians.”

  • Oct 16, 2020
Al Gribbin is School District 8 Trustee. (File photo)

Gribbin: From your Trustee (under censure)

“It is our provincial government that has the power to reorganize school district boundaries and has the power to return the Creston community of schools back to its own school district”

  • Oct 14, 2020
Al Gribbin is School District 8 Trustee. (File photo)
Letters to the Editor. (file photo)

Letter to the editor: Every candidate and party must commit to urgent action on the Climate Crisis

“Just like cancer, the sooner we act, the less radical the treatment and the greater the likelihood of survival.”

  • Oct 14, 2020
Letters to the Editor. (file photo)

Letter to the editor: Unsung Heroes Among Us

“Seven weeks ago, I raced out of the house to bring my trash out when I heard the truck come but carelessly, had not wound up the garden hose and tripped over it, crashing down in the middle of my driveway”

  • Oct 13, 2020
video
VIDEO: British Columbians vote for province's next leadership in 2020 election
Trudeau says family won't trick or treat this year
Pandemic harder to manage in the social media era: Tam
Tories seek to avoid confidence vote on motion

Valley Views: RIGHT OR RESPONSIBILITY?

“Political parties offer differing views on what’s important, and in a world with pressing problems, increasing authoritarianism and inequality, it’s important for citizens to take an active role in shaping their nation’s future.”

  • Oct 9, 2020

Letter to the editor: I am so tired of people using my neighbourhood as their trash bin

“How can you justify throwing trash out of the window of your vehicle? Where do you think it is going?”

  • Oct 9, 2020

OPINION: Why trade restrictions must be eliminated during 2nd wave of COVID-19

Nearly 100 countries enacted temporary restrictions or bans on the export of medical products this year

  • Oct 8, 2020

Letter to the editor: I absolutely concur with the previous writer’s thoughts

“No trustee should be placed in a position of living in fear that he or she can’t speak their mind in a factual matter and speak for the constituents they represent”

  • Oct 6, 2020

Think on These Things: God’s Last Message of Mercy

“The beauty that clothes the Earth is a token of God’s love. We may behold it in the hills, the trees, in the opening buds and the delicate flowers. All speak to us of God.”

  • Oct 6, 2020

Editorial: Reconciliation starts with education

“Education was used as a weapon against these children, and while we can’t change what happened, we can certainly educate people to make sure they know what happened”

GUEST COLUMN: Life with cerebral palsy full of triumph and tribulations

Tuesday, Oct. 6 is World Cerebral Palsy Day

  • Oct 6, 2020

Rec Perspectives: Disc Golf, Anyone?

“For those of you who haven’t heard already, disc golf has come to the Creston Valley”

  • Oct 1, 2020

FINLAYSON: COVID-related job losses concentrated in urban areas… especially Metro Vancouver

The biggest job losses, in absolute terms, have been in Metro Vancouver

  • Sep 30, 2020

OPINION: Stop telling students to study STEM over humanities for post-COVID world

‘Humanities play an essential role in aspects of global competence which have not been the focus of the STEM’

Lit Column: We All Have Pandemic Fatigue

“Without the ability to gather as a community, visit with our loved ones, or to even take our time while we shop, the future can feel gloomy”

  • Sep 30, 2020

Out There Column: Spring flowers in September

“Spring flowers around the first day of autumn? Is that usual? Not likely!”

  • Sep 30, 2020

Column: One person can make a difference

“While it’s sad for many to see the Sunset Seed Company close their doors for good, it dawned on me that several were going to miss Tom and his aura more than the goods that he sold”

Letter to the editor: Trustees should serve students instead of themselves

“As a former School District 8 trustee, I was shocked when the current board awarded themselves a mind-blowing increase in remuneration. What’s next, benefits and a pension plan?”

  • Sep 25, 2020