Twenty-five running in Creston Valley municipal elections

Web Lead

  • Oct. 20, 2011 3:00 p.m.

Creston Valley voters should expect to hear a lot about local politics in the coming month. A total of 25 candidates are vying for 10 positions on Creston town council, the Regional District of Central Kootenay board and School District No. 8 (Kootenay Lake).

Only RDCK areas A and C will be represented by unopposed candidates. Area C director Larry Binks and Area A director Garry Jackman, both who have completed one term in office, will be elected by acclamation.

Area B director John Kettle, who served as the RDCK board chair for the last year and who doubles as chair of the Kootenay East Regional Hospital District, will be opposed by Ed McNiven of Erickson.

Creston’s mayor will continue to be a familiar face after the Nov. 19 election, with incumbent Ron Toyota taking on the man he defeated for the job in 2008, Joe Snopek. Snopek was mayor for two terms and also served as a town councillor before that.

Thirteen candidates are jostling for six town council positions, including incumbents Tanya Ducharme, Judy Gadicke, Wesly Graham, Jerry Schmalz and Joanna Wilson. Len Folkman is the only incumbent not running in the coming election.

Challengers include Rhonda Barter, Malcolm Ferguson, Renee Kyle, Justin Lysohirka, Louis Mihaly, Scott Veitch, Ingrid Voigt and former councillor Ed Vondracek, who failed in his 2008 re-election bid.

School board chair Mel Joy, who represents the Town of Creston, is being challenged by Paulette Francoeur and Heather Suttie.

In the school district’s South Rural zone, incumbents Annette Hambler-Pruden and Verna Mayers-McKenzie have three challengers. Vladimir Certik, Bob Gollan and Rebecca Huscroft have each filed nomination papers.

The Nov. 10 edition of the Creston Valley Advance will feature complete election coverage, including information about each of the candidates.