College of the Rockies firefighting students Jayden Fehr (left) and Cody Thate with COTR financial assistance and awards officer Lois Murray.

Fire services training students receive bursaries in memory of Crawford Bay man

Web Lead

College of the Rockies financial assistance and awards officer Lois Murray recently presented Brandon Salviulo Memorial Scholarships to Jayden Fehr and Cody Thate.

The Brandon Salviulo Memorial Scholarship is awarded to fire services training students from the east or west Kootenays who demonstrate financial need. Each recipient received $1,000. The Salviulo family started the scholarship to honour their son who died in an ATV accident in 2009.

With the help of the Creston-Kootenay Foundation, which manages the funds, the Salviulos are honouring Brandon’s dream of becoming a firefighter.